Your planning threads

Our romantic champagne and ivory wedding 1.7.17

1 to 20 of 1,101 posts

Bridezilla

Hi everyone, 

I have a been a lurker on here for a few months now and have loved reading everyone's planning threads so thought I would start my own. I knew I wanted a memory of planning my wedding, so I hope that people enjoy reading it and I would love for your input and suggestions. Lets start at the very beginning! 

How we met

Through an online dating website!

It was March 2010 and I had been a member of this dating website for one day when the future love of my life messaged me. Three days in, I asked for his personal email address and left the site. I had never had a date with someone I didn’t already know, so purposely scheduled our first date for an early dinner before my part-time evening job, back when I was a student. We met at a well-known pan-Asian restaurant chain, it was Easter time and he bought me a chocolate gorilla Easter egg. I then found out he is obsessed with chocolate (even more then me) and so felt guilty I didn’t bring him one. He had never been to said restaurant before and I recommended him a meal which he found too spicy but he handled it really well and didn’t tell me until weeks later! We got on really well, conversation was flowing and I found him very attractive.

Unfortunately, just after the first date was Easter holidays during which I was going to Berlin to visit a friend. So I went back to my hometown, and realised two days before my flight that I left my passport in my student house so headed back to collect it. This was the perfect opportunity for date number two, for which he took me to one of his favourite restaurants, a cute little Portuguese place. We got a taxi home and when I went to get out the taxi, I wanted to give him a kiss but was too shy!